Dr. Ann Rutter Appointed Senior Associate Dean of Academic Administration

Ann E. Rutter, MD ’08, has been named senior associate dean of academic administration. She will assume the role July 1, succeeding Ellen Cosgrove, MD, who will retire after five years as vice dean for academic administration.

Dr. Rutter has served as academic vice chair for the Department of Family and Community Medicine since 2019 and as the Family Medicine clerkship director since 2012. She is an attending physician with Albany Family Medicine, Community Care Physicians, PC.

She has been recognized by both students and residents for her teaching commitment and excellence and received the 2023 Preceptor of the Year award for the Family Medicine Residency.

“Dr. Rutter is the consummate educator who understands the complexities of modern health care in society,” said Alan S. Boulos, MD ’94, The Lynne and Mark D. Groban, MD ’67 Distinguished Dean of Albany Medical College. “She will play a pivotal role in leading the college’s educational transformation while developing our students and residents to become compassionate, competent, and thoughtful physicians. We are fortunate to have her assume this important leadership position.”

In addition to teaching residents and medical students in Albany, Dr. Rutter participates in medical education and medical education research on a national level. She is an active member of the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM), serving as chair of the Medical Student Education Committee on its Board of Directors, and as STFM’s representative to the Alliance for Clinical Education.

Her clinical interests include primary care and women’s health, including obstetrics, as well as caring for patients and families across the lifespan. She served as chief resident during her family medicine residency at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. A 2008 graduate of Albany Medical College, she was part of the Leadership in Medicine Combined Degree Program with Union College and the Graduate College of Union University.