Six Recognized for Excellence in Nursing

As part of a celebration held each year during Nurses Week, six nurses from throughout the organization were recognized for excellence in patient care and leadership. Our highest honor for nursing, the Pillars of Nursing Excellence is awarded based on nominations submitted by fellow staff members. This year, there were more than 80 nominations. The six winners were selected by the Nurse Recognition Committee and honored during a ceremony held Wednesday, May 10.

2023 Pillars of Nursing Award Honorees:

  • Andrea Bousbouras, RN, Center for Cancer & Blood Disorders
  • Kaylin Dawson MS, BSN, RN, SANE A/P, NYSAFE, Forensic Medicine Division/Sane Program for Emergency and Trauma Services
  • Robin Dugan, MS, RNC-NIC, Pediatrics
  • Katie Nagy, MS, RN, ACNS-BC, Renal Pulmonary General Medicine Unit
  • Erin O’Keefe, RN, Apheresis
  • Ginny Pfeil, MSN, NNP-BC, Neonatal Intensive Care Unit

During the ceremony, the winning nurses heard their nominations read for the first time.

Reading the nomination for Ginny Pfeil, NP, from the NICU, Lynn Spilman, NP, said, “She truly is a pillar among us and embodies the mission of the medical center and nursing as a profession. She is a gift.”

“It is such an honor to get the Pillars of Nursing Award,” Pfeil said. “Back in 1978, this was my first job as a nurse, as a brand-new grad in the NICU. I thought I’d be here for a year and that I would move on to bigger and better things. Lo and behold, here were the bigger and better things. I had lots of different roles and it never got boring. I really just love what I do.”

“Our honorees embody the traits of our profession in every way,” said Interim Chief Nursing Office Maryalice Cullen, DNP, RNC-NIC, NEA-BC. “Each day, you go out and make a difference. You deliver the highest quality care, you are a voice for your patients, and you show endless compassion.”

This year's honorees have a combined total of 153 years of service at Albany Medical Center.